Ms. Falade's Adventures

Separation Anxiety

Posted on: August 13, 2010

It may be weird to say but I am not looking forward to being so far away from my family. I have grown used to seeing them on a daily basis since moving back home and I like it. Something about family makes you feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside.

Don’t get me wrong, living on my own has prepared me for living thousands of miles away from home but this time it will be different. Instead of a few thousand miles separating me from my family it will be an ocean. At least, New York allowed me to remain in the same time zone as my folks, but London requires that I live in the future by 5 hours! The 5 hour time difference is a BIG DEAL considering that I talk to my mom about all things.

It’s not just about talking on the phone though. I had a crazy experience two years ago that made me reevaluate living far away. Somehow I had contracted Gastroenteritis, a stomach flu, and ended up taking myself to the emergency room.

I don’t believe I have felt so alone in my life. Nothing is worse than having to go online to find the nearest hospital, calling a cab mid vomit, and sitting alone in an emergency room for 6 torturous hours to make you wish you lived next door to your folks. Granted I will never have to experience that in London because my extended family is more than able to fill in the gap. It’s just that the times I will get to see my immediate family will be few and far between.

Anyhow, I have made sure that both my parents added Skype to their computers so that should make it easier. I will have to show my dad the Skype text function so he can continue to text me while I’m in the UK. His texts are so encouraging. The last time he dropped me off at the airport I received a text that read “Go conquer the world, Seyi.” That is exactly what I plan on doing.

2 Responses to "Separation Anxiety"

So true, family is so key! I love how your dad wants you to conquer the world! Every parent should wish that for their child and tell them!

I also need to add Skype so we can chat!

love ya!

Boy oh boy how I can relate! I lived back at home with my parents this year and while I did have a melt down (or 3) It was comforting to be back home again. Safe. =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

